

County of Los Alamos

Los Alamos, NM 87544 www.losalamosnm.us

Minutes-DRAFT

County Council - Regular Session

Rick Reiss, Council Chair; Susan O'Leary, Vice Chair; James T. Chrobocinski, Steven Girrens, Kristin Henderson, David Izraelevitz and Pete Sheehey, Councilors

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

6:00 PM

Council Chambers-1000 Central Avenue TELEVISED

1. OPENING/ROLL CALL

The Chair, Rick Reiss, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

The following Councilors were in attendance:

Present: 7 - Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

Councilor Reiss announced that Council met in closed session on August 26, 2016, and no action was taken.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Councilor Girrens, seconded by Councilor Chrobocinski, that the agenda be approved as presented.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

4. PRESENTATIONS, PROCLAMATIONS AND RECOGNITIONS

A. Proclamation declaring the Month of September "Voter Registration Month" and Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2016 as "Voter Registration Day" in Los Alamos County.

Councilor Chrobocinski read and presented the proclamation to Ms. Sharon Stover, County Clerk.

Ms. Sharon Stover, County Clerk, spoke.

5. CONSENT AGENDA

Consent Motion:

A motion was made by Councilor Izraelevitz, seconded by Councilor Chrobocinski, that Council approve the items on the Consent Agenda as presented and that the motions in the staff reports be included for the record.

A. FY2016 Budget Carryovers

I move that Council approve the FY2016 carryovers as summarized on the attachment and that the attachment be made a part of the minutes of this meeting.

B. Adoption of Property Tax Rates for Calendar Year 2016 as Certified by the State Department of Finance and Administration.

I move that Council adopt the official 2016 Certificate of Property Tax Rates prepared by the State Department of Finance and Administration, Local Government Division shown in Attachment A and forward notification of this adoption to the County Assessor.

C. State Approval of County Budget

No further Council action is required.

Approval of the Consent Agenda:

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

6. BUSINESS

A. Consideration of the FY2018 - FY2022 State Infrastructure and Capital Improvement Plan (ICIP) Submission

Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, spoke.

Public Comment.

None.

A motion was made by Councilor Henderson, seconded by Councilor Girrens, that Council approve the submission to the State of the ICIP as attached.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

7. COUNCIL BUSINESS

A. Appointments

1) Board/Commission Appointment(s) - Library Board

A motion was made by Councilor Girrens to nominate Tim Langworthy, Virginia White, Megan Fox, Kathleen Veenstra and Anne Marie Solomon to fill three vacancies on the Library Board; and moved that Council appoint three nominees to the vacant positions as follows; by roll call vote, Councilor's vote for three nominees and the three with the highest vote total of four be appointed to fill terms beginning on 9/01/2016 and ending on 8/31/2018.

After a roll call vote, Mr. Tim Langworthy, Ms. Virginia White and Ms. Megan Fox were appointed.

2) Board/Commission Appointment(s) – Environmental Sustainability Board.

A motion was made by Councilor Izraelevitz to nominate Erik Loechell, Richard B. "Skip" Dunn and Susan Barnes to fill two vacancies on the Environmental Sustainability Board; and move that Council appoint two nominees to the vacant positions as follows; by roll call vote Councilors vote for two nominees and the two nominees with the highest vote total of four or more be appointed to fill ESB terms beginning on 8/01/2016 and ending on 7/31/2018.

After a roll call vote, Mr. Erik Loechell and Ms. Susan Barnes were appointed.

B. Board, Commission and Committee Liaison Reports

Councilor Henderson Reported: The Broadband joint sub-committee continues to work on establishing broadband throughout Los Alamos, citing future Council consideration formalizing a policy on conduit installation will be forthcoming.

C. County Manager's Report

Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, reported.

D. Council Chair Report

Mr. Rick Reiss, Council Chair, reported.

E. General Council Business

None.

F. Approval of Councilor Expenses

A motion was made by Councilor Izraelevitz seconded by Councilor Henderson, to approve travel expenses for Councilor Reiss and Councilor Chrobocinski to attend Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS) in Salt Lake City, UT.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

A motion was made by Councilor Izraelevitz seconded by Councilor Sheehey, to approve travel expenses for Councilor O'Leary to attend Leadership New Mexico.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Reiss, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Girrens, Councilor Henderson, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Sheehey

G. Preview of Upcoming Agenda Items

Councilor Izraelevitz advised that he has spoken with the mountain biking community, who have requested an update on the Sipapu trail and asked that the item be placed on a future agenda.

COUNCIL	OR COMMENTS
---------------------------	-------------

None.

9. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:41 p.m.
INCORPORATED COUNTY OF LOS ALAMOS
Rick Reiss, Council Chair
Attest:
Sharon Stover, County Clerk

Meeting Transcribed by: Victoria L. Martinez, Deputy Clerk