LOS ALAMOS

County of Los Alamos Minutes

Los Alamos, NM 87544 www.losalamosnm.us

County Council - Special Session

David Izraelevitz, Council Chair; Christine Chandler, Council Vice-Chair, Antonio Maggiore, Susan O'Leary, Morris Pongratz, Rick Reiss, and Pete Sheehey, Councilors

Monday, June 11, 2018

6:00 PM

Council Chambers - 1000 Central Avenue

TELEVISED

1. OPENING/ROLL CALL

The Council Chair, David Izraelevitz, called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

The following Councilors were in attendance:

Present: 5 – Councilor Izraelevitz, Councilor Chandler, Councilor Maggiore, Councilor O'Leary, and Councilor Sheehey

Absent: 1 - Councilor Reiss

Councilor Reiss participated, via telephone, during Item 5.A. at 6:11 p.m.

Councilor Pongratz was appointed and joined the meeting during discussion of Item 5.B. at $7:44\ p.m.$

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Led by: All

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Ms. Ryn Hermann, 817 Kristi Lane, Chamber of Commerce Director, spoke regarding the Chamber Fest.

Ms. Anne Kaine, 1100 Trinity Lane, Del Norte Credit Union, presented Council with a plaque.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Councilor Chandler, seconded by Councilor Maggiore, that the Agenda be approved as presented.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Councilor Izraelevitz, Councilor O'Leary, Councilor Chandler,
Councilor Maggiore and Councilor Sheehey

Absent: 1 - Councilor Reiss

5. BUSINESS

A. <u>10804-18</u> Discussion a

Discussion and Possible Action on the Filling of Councilor Vacancy.

Councilor Reiss participated, via telephone, during item 5.A.

Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, spoke.

Each applicant made an opening statement, then was asked six questions by Council.

A motion was made by Councilor Sheehey, that Council nominate Morris B. Pongratz, Brady Burke, David M. North, Laura A. Crotzer, Aaron Walker, and K. Michael Cleveland to fill one vacancy on the County Council and move that Council appoint one nominee to the vacant position as follows:

By roll call vote, Councilors vote for one nominee and the nominee with the highest vote total of four or more be appointed to fill the remainder of the term beginning on January 1, 2014 and ending on December 31, 2018.

Councilor's Sheehey, Maggiore, Reiss, Chandler, and Izraelevitz voted for: Morris B. Pongratz

Councilor O'Leary voted for: K. Michael Cleveland

After a roll call vote, Mr. Morris B. Pongratz was appointed.

RECESS

The meeting recessed at 7:31 p.m. and reconvened at 7:44 p.m.

Councilor Reiss left the remote session after the discussion of this item, at 7:31 p.m.

Councilor Maggiore left the meeting after the discussion of this item, at 7:44 p.m.

Councilor Pongratz joined the meeting for discussion of Item 5.B.

B. <u>10875-18</u>

Councilors' Role in Emergencies (presented by Bev Simpson)

Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, spoke.

Mr. Cody Ulrich, Emergency Management Specialist, presented.

			FNT

None.

7. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 8:02 p.m.						
INCORPORATED COUNTY OF LOS ALAMOS						
David Izraelevitz, Council Chair						
Attest:						
Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk						

Meeting Transcribed by: Francella M. Montoya, Senior Deputy Clerk