

Minutes

## **County Council - Special Session**

Sara Scott, Council Chair; Randall Ryti , Vice-Chair; David Izraelevitz; Antonio Maggiore; Katrina Martin: James Robinson; and Pete Sheehey, Councilors

Tuesday, January 14, 2020	6:00 PM	Council Chambers - 1000 Central Avenue
	Strategic Planning	

# OPENING/ROLL CALL

The Council Chair, Sara Scott, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

The following Councilors were in attendance:

Present 7 - Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Robinson, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Scott, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Martin

## 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Led by: All.

## STATEMENT REGARDING CLOSED SESSION (not on agenda)

A motion was made by Councilor Robinson, seconded by Councilor Maggiore, that Council approve the following statement for inclusion in the minutes: "The matters discussed in the closed session held on January 14, 2020 that began at 5:00 p.m. were limited only to those topics specified in the notice of the closed session, and no action was taken on any matter in that closed session."

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Robinson, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Scott, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Martin

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT (not on agenda)**

None.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Councilor Sheehey, seconded by Councilor Martin, that the agenda be approved, as presented.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Robinson, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Scott, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Martin



1.

#### 4. BUSINESS

A. <u>12699-20</u> Action to Suspend Council Rules

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Martin, that Council suspend their procedural rules at this meeting, January 14, 2020, so that formal action may be taken.

The motion passed with the following vote:

- Yes: 7 Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Robinson, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Scott, Councilor Izraelevitz and Councilor Martin
- B. <u>12690-20</u> Board/Commission Appointment(s) Environmental Sustainability Board

Ms. Anne Laurent, Public Works Director, spoke.

Public Comment: None.

A motion was made by Councilor Sheehey, seconded by Councilor Robinson, to nominate Alesia Benson, Valerie Shelley, and Erik Loechell to fill one (1) vacancy on the Environmental Sustainability Board (ESB) and further moved that Council appoint the nominee to the vacant position as follows;

By roll call vote, Councilors will vote for one (1) nominee and the nominee with the highest vote total of at least four votes will be appointed to fill a partial ESB term that began on August 01, 2018 and will end July 31, 2020; this nominee will also be appointed to the full term beginning on August 1, 2020 and ending on July 31, 2022.

Councilor Scott called for a roll call vote to appoint a member to the Environmental Sustainability Board:

Councilor's Scott, Ryti, Izraelevitz, Maggiore, Martin, Robinson voted for: Erik Loechell

Councilor Sheehey voted for: Valerie Shelley

After a roll call vote, Mr. Erik Loechell was appointed.

C. <u>12698-20</u> Board/Commission Appointment(s) - Lodgers' Tax Advisory Board

Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, spoke.

Public Comment: None.

A motion was made by Councilor Robinson, seconded by Councilor Martin, that Council approve the re-appointment of Linda Deck as one of the two required tourism industry representatives and the appointment of Zack Aikey as one of the two required lodging industry representatives to the Lodgers' Tax Advisory Board with both terms ending December 1, 2022.

Councilor Scott called for a roll call vote to appoint members to the Lodgers' Tax Advisory Board:

Councilor's Scott, Ryti, Izraelevitz, Maggiore, Martin, Robinson, and Sheehey voted for: Linda Deck and Zack Aikey

After a roll call vote, Ms. Linda Deck and Mr. Zack Aikey were appointed.

D. <u>12629-20</u> 2020 Strategic Priorities Discussion

The Council and public engaged in discussion on the strategic leadership plan, goals, and priorities.

### RECESS

Councilor Scott called for a recess at 8:24 p.m. The meeting reconvened at 8:37 p.m.

No action taken.

## 5. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 p.m.

INCORPORATED COUNTY OF LOS ALAMOS

Sara C. Scott, Council Chair

Attest:

Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk

Meeting Transcribed by: Victoria L. Martinez, Deputy Clerk