

Council Meeting Staff Report

August 30, 2016

Agenda No.:	1)
Indexes (Council Goals):	2016 Council Goal - N/A
Presenters:	Philo Shelton
Legislative File:	8477-16

Title

Board/Commission Appointments - Transportation Board

Recommended Action

I nominate Eileen Lime, Sriram Swaminarayan, and Marion Vance to fill two vacancies on the Transportation Board and move that Council appoint two nominees to the vacant positions as follows:

By roll call vote, Councilors vote for two nominees and the two nominees with the highest vote total of four or more will be appointed to fill the vacant positions which terms began on March 1, 2016 and will end on February 28, 2018.

Body

The purpose of this item is to fill two vacancies on the Transportation Board. These vacancies represent expired terms for Randall Ryti and Wayne Hardie, which ended on February 28, 2016.

This seven member board has staggered two-year terms beginning March 1 and ending February 28. The current Transportation Board membership is shown on Attachment A.

The applicants for these positions are:

Eileen Lime (D) Sriram Swaminarayan (R) Marion Vance (N)

Party affiliations are noted as [D] Democrat, [R] Republican, [I] Independent, [G] Green, [L] Libertarian, [DTS] Declined to State, and [N] Not Registered to Vote.

All applicants were interviewed by a committee on July 29 and August 2, 2016. The recommendation of the interview committee is shown as Attachment E. The interview committee consisted of the following:

Steve Girrens, Council Liaison Khalil Spencer, Board Chair Jon Bulthuis, Deputy Public Works Director

The application & interview packets are attached for reference (Attachments B, C and D). Attachments

- A Transportation Board Member List
- B Eileen Lime Application and Interview Packet
- C Sriram Swaminarayan Application and Interview Packet
- D Marion Vance Application and Interview Packet

E - Interview Committee Recommendation