



County of Los Alamos

Council Meeting Staff Report February 28, 2017

Agenda No.: 2)

Indexes (Council Goals): 2015 Council Goal – Quality Governance – Operational Excellence – Maintain Quality

Essential Services and Supporting Infrastructure

Presenters: Christopher Wilson; Melanee Hand

Legislative File: 9106-17

Title

Board/Commission Appointment(s) - Parks and Recreation Board

Recommended Action

I nominate Leslie Hansen [D], Dana Dattelbaum [D], Pereyra (Trey) Ramiro A. III [R], Robbie Harris [R], Dina Pesenson [D] to fill three vacancies on the Parks and Recreation Board and move that Council appoint three nominees to the vacant position(s) as follows:

By roll call vote, Councilors vote for three (3) nominees and the three (3) with the highest vote total of four or more be appointed to fill Parks and Recreation Board terms beginning December 1, 2016 and ending on November 30, 2018.

Body

The Parks and Recreation Board is a seven member board with staggered two year terms beginning December 1 and ending November 30. A copy of the current Board Member list is attached for reference (Attachment A).

The three vacancies represent the expired terms for Christine Nackers, JoAnn Johnson and Mike Steinzig.

The applicants for these vacancies are:

Dana Dattelbaum [D]
Dina Pesenson [D]
Leslie Hansen [D]
Pereyra (Trey) Ramiro III [R]
Robbie Harris [R]

All of the applicants were interviewed by an interview committee during January and February 2017. The interview committee found all applicants to be well qualified and hoped that all would have the opportunity to serve on the Commission, if not immediately, then in the future. It was noted to all applicants that two additional second terms will expire on November 30, 2017. The interview committee makes their recommendation based on seeking a balance among the currently serving Commissioners and the backgrounds, interests and skills of the applicants. The applicant packets attached include the application and interview notes by the interview committee for each applicant.

The interview committee consisted of the following due to transition of Council Liaisons: Parks Board Chair: Melanee Hand, Council Liaisons James Chrobocinski and Pete Sheehey, and Staff Liaison: Chris Wilson.

Given County Charter prohibition against more than a simple majority of any political party that means that both Republican applicants can get appointed but only two of the Democrat applicants can get appointed - not all three.

The interview committee recommends the following applicants: Dana Dattelbaum (D), Pereya Ramiro [R], Robbie Harris [R], reference Attachment G.

Attachments

- A Board Member List
- B Dana Dattelbaum Application Packet
- C Dina Pesenson Application Packet
- D Leslie Hansen Application Packet
- E Pererya Ramiro Application Packet
- F Robbie Harris Application Packet
- G Interview Panels