

Council Meeting Staff Report

December 18, 2018

Agenda No.:	1)
Indexes (Council Goals):	
Presenters:	Stephanie Nakhleh; Brian Brogan
Legislative File:	11448-18

Title

Board/Commission Appointment(s) - Parks and Recreation Board

Recommended Action

I nominate Angela Bratton, William Dai, Robbie Harris, Timothy Johnson, Kendra Keady, Ashley Mathews, and Dina Pesenson to fill four (4) vacancies on the Parks and Recreation Board and move that Council appoint four nominees to the vacant positions as follows:

By roll call vote, Councilors vote for four (4) nominees and the four (4) with the highest vote total of four or more be appointed to fill Parks and Recreation Board terms beginning December 1, 2018, and ending on November 30, 2020.

Body

The Parks and Recreation Board is a seven member board with staggered two year terms beginning December 1 and ending November 30. A copy of the current Board Member list is attached for reference (Attachment A). It is currently composed as follows: Stephanie Nahkleh [D], Donald Ulrich [I], and Dianne Wilburn [D], Robbie Harris [R], and Dina Pesenson [D].

The four vacancies represent (2) second terms for Robbie Harris and Dina Pesenson and two (2) vacant seats.

The applicants for these vacancies are:

Angela Bratton [I] William Dai [I] Robbie Harris [R] Timothy Johnson [R] Kendra Keady [I] Ashley Mathews [L] Dina Pesenson [D]

All of the applicants were interviewed by an interview committee during November and December 2018. The interview committee found all applicants to be well qualified and hoped that all would have the opportunity to serve on the Commission, if not immediately, then in the future. The interview committee makes their recommendation based on seeking a balance among the currently serving Commissioners and the backgrounds, interests, and skills of the applicants. The applicant packets attached include the application and interview notes by the interview committee for each applicant.

The interview committee consisted of the following: Parks Board Chair: Stephanie Nakhleh; Council Liaison: Pete Sheehey; and Board Secretary: Linda Lindstrom.

Appointing any of the nominees will not violate the County Charter restriction concerning political

party majorities on Boards and Commissions.

Party affiliations are noted as [D] Democrat, [R] Republican, [I] Independent, [G] Green, [L] Libertarian, [DTS] Declined to State, and [N] Not Registered to Vote.

Attachments

- A Board Roster
- B Angela Bratton
- C William Dai
- D Robbie Harris
- E Timothy Johnson
- F Kendra Keady
- G Ashley Mathews
- H Dina Pesenson
- I Interview Panel Recommendations