



# County of Los Alamos

## Council Meeting Staff Report July 9, 2019

Agenda No.: H.

Indexes (Council Goals): \* 2019 Council Goal - Planning for Appropriate Levels of County Services

Presenters: Paul Andrus Legislative File: 12100-19

### Title

Board/Commission Appointments - Planning and Zoning Commission

#### **Recommended Action**

I nominate Jean Dewart, April Wade and Michelle Griffin to fill the three vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission and move that Council appoint the nominees to the 3 vacant positions for a term beginning on April 01, 2019 and ending on March 31, 2022. Body

The purpose of this item is to fill three vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission. These vacancies represent two expired terms of Commissioners Jean Dewart (D), and April Wade (R), who are eligible for reappointment, and one vacancy left by the passing of Ralph Chapman (D) in October, 2018.

The applicants for this position are: Jean Dewart (D), April Wade (R), and Michelle Griffin (R)

Party affiliations are noted as [D] Democrat, [R] Republican, [I] Independent, [G] Green, [L] Libertarian, [DTS] Declined to State, and [N] Not Registered to Vote.

This nine (9) member board has 3-year terms beginning April 01 and ending March 31. It is currently composed as follows:

Terry Priestley (	(I)	04/01/2018 - 03/31/2021
Neal Martin (	(D)	04/01/2018 - 03/31/2021
Melissa Arias (	D)	04/01/2017 - 03/31/2020
Jessie Dixon (I	D)	04/01/2017 - 03/31/2020
Craig Martin (	D)	04/01/2017 - 03/31/2020
April Wade (	R)	04/01/2018- 03/31/2019
Jean Dewart (	(D)	04/01/2018- 03/31/2019
<b>Beverly Neal-Cl</b>	inton	(I) 04/01/2018 - 03/31/2021
Vacant		04/01/2019 - 03/31/2022

Appointing any of the nominees will not violate the County Charter restriction concerning political party majorities on Boards and Commissions.

### **Attachments**

- A Board Member List
- B Application Packet for Jean Dewart
- C Application Packet for April Wade
- D Application Packet for Michelle Griffin