

County of Los Alamos

Council Meeting Staff Report

July 30, 2019

Agenda No.:	D.
Indexes (Council Goals):	
Presenters:	Donna Casados; Brian Brogan
Legislative File:	12103-19

Title

DWI Planning Council Appointments

Recommended Action

I move that Council appoint new members, Jordan Redmond and Lisa Zuhn and reappoint, David Griego, Diane Noveroske, and George Marsden to the DWI Planning Council for 2-year terms beginning on August 1, 2019 and ending on April 30, 2021

Body

Los Alamos County Resolution No.16-08 authorizes a minimum of nine (9) DWI Planning Council Members to serve in a voting capacity for 2-year staggered terms. All terms end on April 30 of the given year and have options for unlimited 2-year reappointment thereafter. The existing DWI Planning Council members reviewed applications of new potential members and a unanimous decision was made to recommend adding them to the DWI Planning Council Board. The DWI Planning Council also approved recommending the reappointment of existing members whose terms were expiring and still expressed interest in participating in the DWI Planning Council. Per LDWI Program Guidelines, members of the planning council shall be selected to represent a broad spectrum of interests and may include county officials, DWI program and service providers, law enforcement officers, alcohol counselors and therapists, school administrators, local political leaders, representatives of Native American communities, and teen representatives.

Current Members

(Term 9/4/18 - 4/30/2020): Juanita McNiel, Municipal Court Judy Lovejoy, Citizen Member Jaime Gonzales, Los Alamos Police Department Brandi Seekins, Los Alamos Public Schools Bernadette Lauritzen, Citizen Member

Potential New Members

(Term 8/1/2019 - 4/30/2021): Jordan Redmond, Director of Los Alamos Family Council Lisa Zuhn, Executive Director of Juvenile Justice Advisory Board

Members for Reappointment

(Term 8/1/2019 - 4/30/2021): David Griego, Los Alamos County Diane Noveroske, Citizen Member George Marsden, Los Alamos Teen Center Attachments

- A DWI Planning Council Membership Roster
- B Resolution No. 16-08
- C Application for Appointment L. Zuhn
- D Application for Appointment J. Redmond
- E Application for Reappointment D. Griego
- F Application for Reappointment D. Noveroske
- G Application for Reappointment G. Marsden