## MINUTES Planning and Zoning Commission

- draft -

August 23, 2023 – 5:30 P.M.

Due to COVID-19, virtual participation for this meeting was made available via Zoom. The proceeding can, also, be viewed at <u>http://losalamos.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx</u>

## 1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Chair Adler called the meeting to order at 5:38 PM. Roll call was administered. A quorum was present.

#### Members Present:

Rachel Adler, Chair Stephanie Nakhleh, Commissioner Charlene Hutchinson\*, Commissioner Karen Easton, Commissioner Benjamin Hill, Commissioner David Hampton, Commissioner Katherine Bruell, Commissioner **Members Absent:** Neal D. Martin, Vice Chair Rebecca White. Commissioner Staff Present: Paul Andrus, Community Development Director Sobia Sayeda, Planning Manager Jane Mathews, Senior Planner Desirae J. Lujan, Associate Planner Larissa Breen, Assistant County Attorney Dan Ungerleider, Economic Development Administrator

Dan Osborn, Housing Program Coordinator

\* Attended virtually via Zoom

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT

No comment.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Agenda Approved.

## 4. PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION BUSINESS

#### A. Minutes from the Planning and Zoning Commission Meeting for April 26, 2023.

Commissioner Hampton noted a discrepancy in the draft. He stated that Neal Martin was noted as absent but is listed on the roll call vote for SIT-2023-0063. Chair Adler asked staff to confirm the information and amend accordingly.

# *Commissioner Easton motioned to approve the Minutes as amended. Seconded by Commissioner Hampton. Motion carried.*

**B.** Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Commissioner Hampton nominated Stephanie Nakhleh for Vice Chair. Commissioner Hutchison seconded. No other nominations were made. Commissioner Nakhleh accepted the nomination. Commissioner Nakhleh was unanimously elected as Vice Chair.

For:

Karen Easton Benjamin Hill Stephanie Nakhleh David Hampton Rachel Adler Charlene Hutchison Katherine Bruell

Commissioner Nakhleh nominated Rachel Adler for Chair. Commissioner Easton seconded. No other nominations were made. Commissioner Adler accepted the nomination. Commissioner Adler was unanimously re-elected as Chair.

<u>For:</u> Charlene Hutchison Karen Easton Katherine Bruell Benjamin Hill Stephanie Nakhleh Rachel Adler David Hampton

#### 5. PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION TRAINING

Sobia Sayeda presented the Commission with basic Planning and Zoning Commission training.

#### 6. COMMISSION/DIRECTOR COMMUNICATIONS

- A. Department Report
- B. Chair's Report
- **C.** Council Liaison's Report Councilor Hand provided her report.

#### D. Commissioners' Comments

- 7. PUBLIC COMMENT
- 8. ADJOURNMENT 6:57 PM