

County of Los Alamos

Los Alamos, NM 87544 www.losalamosnm.us

Fire Station No. 3

Minutes

County Council - Work Session

Denise Derkacs, Council Chair, Theresa Cull, Council Vice-Chair, Melanee Hand, Suzie Havemann, Keith Lepsch, David Reagor, and Randall Ryti Councilors

Tuesday, March 14, 2023 6:00 PM

129 State Road 4 – White Rock

1. OPENING/ROLL CALL

The Council Chair, Denise Derkacs, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Council Chair Derkacs made opening remarks regarding the procedure of the meeting.

Ms. Linda Matteson, Deputy County Manager, listed the county employees in attendance via zoom.

The following Councilors were in attendance:

Present: 6 - Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann,
Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

Remote: 1 - Councilor Cull

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Led by: All.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Councilor Derkacs acknowledged a Councilor request that Item 6.E be heard before Item 6.D. There were no objections.

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Lepsch, that Council approve the agenda as amended.

The motion passed by acclamation with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

5. PRESENTATIONS, PROCLAMATIONS, AND RECOGNITIONS

- A. Presentation from Ted Wyka, NNSA Los Alamos Field Office Manager
 - Mr. Ted Wyka, NNSA Los Alamos Field Office Manager, presented.
 - Ms. Stephanie Stringer, NNSA Los Alamos, spoke.
 - Ms. Kristin Dors, NNSA Los Alamos, spoke.

No action taken.

- **B.** Presentation and Discussion of the Public Works Department Facility Condition Assessment
 - Mr. Juan Rael, Public Works Director, presented.
 - Mr. Doug Fredendal, Intelligent Systems & Engineering Services Corporation, spoke.
 - Ms. Sara Rhoton, Capital Projects and Facilities Manager, spoke.
 - Ms. Anne Laurent, Deputy County Manager, spoke.
 - Mr. Steven Lynne, County Manager, spoke.

No action taken.

- C. Presentation of the Atomic City Transit Short-Range Transit Plan
 - Mr. Juan Rael, Public Works Director, spoke.
 - Ms. Genevieve Evans, LSC Transportation Consultants Inc., presented.
 - Ms. Annette Granillo, Former Transit Manager, spoke.
 - Mr. Steven Lynne, County Manager, spoke.
 - Mr. James Barela, Transit Manager, spoke.

No action taken.

RECESS

Councilor Derkacs called for a recess at 8:32 p.m. The meeting reconvened at 8:45 p.m.

D. Report from Recent Trip of Federal Legislative Committee Members

Councilor Derkacs spoke.

Councilor Ryti spoke.

Ms. Danielle Duran, Intergovernmental Affairs Manager, spoke.

No action taken.

6. BUSINESS

A. Action to Suspend Council Rules for Work Session.

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Reagor, that Council suspend their procedural rules for this work session, March 14, 2023, so that formal action may be taken.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

B. Approval of County Council Minutes for the February 28, 2023 Regular Session

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Reagor, that Council approve the County Council Minutes for the February 28, 2023 Regular Session.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 6 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

Abstain: 1 - Councilor Havemann

C. Board/Commission Appointment(s) - Tourism Implementation Task Force

A motion was made by Councilor Hand, seconded by Councilor Ryti, to nominate Jennifer Armstrong to fill one (1) vacancy on the Tourism Implementation Task Force and move that Council appoint this nominee to fill the term beginning on October 18, 2022 and ending on October 17, 2024.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

E. Discussion and Possible Action on Items Related to Council Operations and Outreach (heard out of order per approval of agenda)

Councilor Cull spoke.

Mr. Steven Lynne, County Manager, spoke.

Mr. Alvin Leaphart, County Attorney, spoke.

Public Comment:

Mr. David Hampton spoke.

Ms. Catherine Ozment spoke.

Mr. Aaron Walker spoke.

Mr. James Wernicke spoke.

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Cull, that Council refer these items to the council rules committee.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 6 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, and Councilor Ryti

No: 1 - Councilor Reagor

- **D.** Discussion and Possible Action on Recommendations of New Boards (heard out of order per approval of agenda)
 - Mr. Steve Lynne, County Manager, spoke.
 - Ms. Linda Matteson, Deputy County Manager, spoke.
 - Mr. Alvin Leaphart, County Attorney, spoke.

LA Resiliency Energy and Sustainability (LARES) Task Force

Public Comment:

None.

A motion was made by Councilor Ryti, seconded by Councilor Hand, that Council follow recommendations regarding the LARES Taskforce and its work being incorporated into the Environmental Sustainability Board.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

Racial Equity and Inclusivity (REI) Task Force

Public Comment:

None.

A motion was made by Councilor Hand, seconded by Councilor Lepsch, that Council accept staff recommendations for this new board.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 6 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, and Councilor Reagor

No: 1 – Councilor Ryti

Animal Shelter Ad-Hoc Advisory Committee (ASAAC)

Public Comment:

Ms. Wendee Brunish spoke.

A motion was made by Councilor Cull, seconded by Councilor Hand, that Council ask county staff to come back in May or June with a status report on the recommendations made by the Animal Control Advisory Committee.

Councilor Ryti offered the following Friendly Amendment to the motion: to acknowledge that county staff will be reaching out to concerned citizens. It was accepted.

The motion and Friendly Amendment passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 – Councilor Derkacs, Councilor Cull, Councilor Hand, Councilor Havemann, Councilor Lepsch, Councilor Reagor, and Councilor Ryti

7. PUBLIC COMMENT

Ms. Maire O'Neill commented on the Los Alamos Public Schools website. Mr. Aaron Walker commented on the salaries of County Councilors.

8. ADJOURNMENT

| The meeting adjourned at 10:36 p.m. |
|---|
| |
| INCORPORATED COUNTY OF LOS ALAMOS |
| Denise Derkacs, Council Chair |
| Define Defraces, Council Chair |
| Attest: |
| |
| Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk |
| Meeting Transcribed by: Ubaldo Barela, Deputy Clerk |