

County of Los Alamos

Los Alamos, NM 87544 www.losalamosnm.us

Minutes

County Council – Work Session

* Note – These minutes are not the official minutes and are subject to approval by the County Council.

Sara Scott, Council Chair; Randall Ryti, Council Vice-Chair; David Izraelevitz, Antonio Maggiore, Katrina Martin, James Robinson, and Pete Sheehey, Councilors

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

6:00 PM

"Due to COVID-19 concerns, meeting will be conducted remotely.

Public can view proceedings at http://losalamos.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx viz Zoom at https://zoom.us/j/98912153689

1. OPENING/ROLL CALL

The Council Chair, Sara Scott, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

The following Councilors were in attendance:

Present: 7 - Councilor Scott, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Izraelevitz, Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Martin, Councilor Robinson, and Councilor Sheehey

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Led by: All.

Councilor Sheehey spoke some words of remembrance for former US Representative Nick Salazar. Council Chair Scott made opening remarks regarding the procedure of the meeting due to COVID-19. Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, listed the County employees in attendance.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Councilor Izraelevitz, seconded by Councilor Maggiore, that the agenda be approved as presented.

The motion passed with the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Councilor Scott, Councilor Ryti, Councilor Izraelevitz, Councilor Maggiore, Councilor Martin, Councilor Robinson, and Councilor Sheehey

5. PRESENTATIONS, PROCLAMATIONS AND RECOGNITIONS

A. Briefing by the Lodger's Tax Advisory Board

- Ms. Katie Bruell, Chair of the Lodgers' Tax Advisory Board, spoke.
- Ms. Kelly Stewart, Marketing Specialist, spoke.
- Ms. Zadora Morin, Lodgers' Tax Advisory Board/Tourism Implementation Task Force, spoke.
- Ms. Joanie Griffin, Sunny505, spoke.

No action taken.

B. Presentation on the Current Status of the Downtown Master Plans and Development Code Update

- Mr. Paul Andrus, Community Development Director, spoke.
- Mr. Ryan Foster, Principal Planner, Community Development Department, spoke.
- Mr. Will Gleason, Dekker/Perich/Sabatini, spoke.
- Ms. Katrina Arndt, Dekker/Perich/Sabatini, spoke.
- Ms. Jessica Lawlis, Dekker/Perich/Sabatini, spoke.
- Mr. Dan Guimond, Economic and Planning Systems, spoke.

No action taken.

6. BUSINESS

A. Discussion of Broadband

- Mr. Harry Burgess, County Manager, spoke.
- Mr. Steven Lynne, Deputy County Manager, spoke.
- Mr. John Roig, Chief Information Officer, spoke.

No action taken.

7. PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Aaron Walker, 413 Pruitt, commented on the Downtown Master Plan discussion.

Mr. Ken Milder, 1082 Big Rock Loop, commented on the Downtown Master Plan discussion and the broadband discussion.

Councilor Scott thanked all County employees involved with snow removal and made a statement regarding COVID safe practices (CSP).

ADJOURNMENT The meeting adjourned at 10:02 p.m. INCORPORATED COUNTY OF LOS ALAMOS Sara C. Scott, Council Chair Attest: Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk

8.

Meeting Transcribed By: Victoria L. Martinez, Senior Deputy Clerk