

County Council

June 8, 2021

Ms. Beth Beloff Coalition of Sustainable Communities NM C/O: Santa Fe Community Foundation 501 Halona St. Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505

Dear Ms. Beloff,

COUNTY COUNCIL

Randall Ryti Council Chair James Robinson

Council Vice-Chair
COUNCILORS

David Izraelevitz David Reagor Sara Scott Sean James Williams Los Alamos County Council approved the formation of the Los Alamos Resiliency Energy & Sustainability Task Force to serve as an advisory body to the County Council for the purpose of recommending ways for the County as a whole, including government, businesses, and residents to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions and advance other sustainable practices in the face of climate change. On April 2, 2021, the Coalition of Sustainable Communities New Mexico, Development Director and Executive Director provided an overview to LARES and invited Los Alamos County to become a member. On April 16, 2021, LARES Task Force voted to recommend to Los Alamos County Council to join the Coalition of Sustainable Communities New Mexico. At the FY22 Budget Hearings, on April 26, 2021, the Los Alamos County Council approved funding of \$5,000 to join the Coalition of Sustainable Communities New Mexico.

We are pleased to join the Coalition effective June 9, 2021 and will begin paying membership dues on July 1, 2021, in alignment with FY22. We look forward to collaborating on efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, strategize on how to improve environmental sustainability within our community and share best practices. Los Alamos County has designated Council Chair, Randall Ryti to serve as representative to the Coalition.

Sincerely,

Randall Ryti Chair, Los Alamos County Council