

# **Council Meeting Staff Report**

February 28, 2017

Agenda No.:	1)
Indexes (Council Goals):	2018 Council Goal - N/A
Presenters:	Tamara Baer
Legislative File:	9103-17

#### Title

Board/Commission Appointments - Planning and Zoning Commission.

#### **Recommended Action**

I move to nominate Melissa Arias, Jessie Dixon, Craig Martin, Ryan Tatro, or Laura Tietjen to fill three (3) vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission and further move that Council appoint the three (3) nominees to the vacant position(s) as follows:

By roll call vote, Councilors will vote for three (3) nominees and the three [3] with the highest votes of four of more will be appointed to terms beginning on April 01, 2017 and ending on March 31, 2020;

## Body

The purpose of this item is to fill three (3) vacancies on the Planning and Zoning Commission.

The interview committee recommends the appointment of Melissa Arias, Jessie Dixon, and Craig Martin.

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of nine (9) members appointed by Council. There has been one (1) vacancy since the resignation of Fred Brueggeman on August 31, 2016 when Commissioner Brueggeman relocated outside of Los Alamos County. His second term on the Commission would have expired on 03/31/17. The second terms of two other Commissioners also expire on 03/31/2017. Therefore the Commission asks the Council to appoint three (3) new members, whose terms will begin on April 1, 2017 and extend to March 31, 2020.

Five (5) applicants were interviewed by a committee consisting of Councilor Rick Reiss, Council liaison to P&Z; Phil Gursky, outgoing P&Z Chair; Michael Redondo, incoming P&Z Chair; and Tamara Baer, CDD and staff liaison to P&Z.

Applicants for the positions and their party affiliations are: Melissa Arias (D), Jessie Dixon (D), Craig Martin (D), Ryan Tatro (R), and Laura Tietjen (D). The interview committee found all applicants to be well qualified and hoped that all would have the opportunity to serve on the Commission, if not immediately, then in the near future. It was noted to all applicants that two additional second terms will expire on March 31, 2018. The interview committee makes their recommendation based on seeking a balance among the currently serving Commissioners and the backgrounds, interests and skills of the applicants.

The nine (9) member Commission has three-year terms beginning April 01 and ending March 31. Current members, their party affiliations and the dates they were appointed and the date their current term will expire are the following: Party affiliations are noted as [D] Democrat, [R] Republican, [I] Independent, [G] Green, [L] Libertarian, [DTS] Declined to State, and [N] Not Registered to Vote.

This nine (9) member board has three (3) year terms beginning April 1 and ending March 31. It is currently composed as follows:

Ashley Mamula (DTS) 04/01/2016 - 03/31/2019 Laurence B Warner (R) 04/01/2015 - 03/31/2018 Michael Redondo (D) 04/01/2015 - 03/31/2018 Jaret McDonald (R) 04/01/2015 - 03/31/2018 Philip Kunsberg (DTS) 04/01/2016 - 03/31/2019 Amy Woods (D) 04/01/2016 - 03/31/2019 Philip Gursky (D) 04/01/2014 - 03/31/2017 Catherine Mockler (DTS) 04/01/2014 - 03/31/2017

the appointment of any of the nominees will not violate the County Charter restriction concerning political party majorities on Boards and Commissions.

## Attachments

### A - P&Z Member List

- B Application Packet for Melissa Arias
- C Application Packet for Jessie Dixon
- D Application Packet for Craig Martin
- E Application Packet for Ryan Tatro
- F Application Packet for Laura Tietjen