



# County of Los Alamos

## Council Meeting Staff Report August 9, 2022

Agenda No.: F.

Indexes (Council Goals):

Presenters: Angelica Gurule; Juan Rael; David Izraelevitz

Legislative File: 16143-22

#### **Title**

Board/Commission Appointments - Environmental Sustainability Board

#### Recommended Action

I nominate Erik Loechell and Dina Pesenson for re-appointment and Shannon Blair and Jenna Stanek as new appointments to the Environmental Sustainability Board and move that all be appointed for terms beginning August 1, 2022 and ending on July 31, 2024.

Body

The Environmental Sustainability Board is a seven-member board with staggered two-year terms beginning August 1 and ending July 31. A copy of the current Board Member roster is attached for reference (Attachment A).

The vacancies are a result of three member terms expiring on July 31, 2022 and two resignations. Erik Loechell served one partial and one full term. Dina Pesenson served one term and is eligible for reappointment. Jessie Emerson served one partial term, applied and rescinded her application. Allison Chan and Amanda MacDonald resigned from the board.

The applicants are: Erik Loechell [DTS] Shannon Blair [D] Dina Pesenson [D] Jenna Stanek [D]

Applicants were interviewed by an interview committee July 12 and 14, 2022. The interview committee consisted of the following:

ESB Member: Makayla Lui

Council Liaison: David Izraelevitz ESB Staff Liaison: Angelica Gurule

The interview committee recommends reappointing Erik Loechell and Dina Pesenson for a second full term, and appointing Shannon Blair and Jenna Stanek to a first full term on the ESB.

Party affiliations are noted as [D] Democrat, [R] Republican, [I] Independent, [G] Green, [L] Libertarian, [DTS] Declined to State, and [N] Not Registered to Vote.

Appointing the applicants will not violate the County Charter restriction concerning political party majorities on Boards and Commissions.

### **Attachments**

- A Environmental Sustainability Board Member Roster
- B Application Packet for Erik Loechell
- C Application Packet for Shannon Blair

- D Application Packet for Dina Pesenson
  E Application Packet for Jenna Stanek
  F Interview Panel Recommendation